top of page
Michelle's Childminding Services

I am a home from home setting, providing childcare for children aged from 6 months till they start school. Using the Early Years Foundation Stage I provide bespoke learning through play activities both indoors and outdoors, to encourage each child to fulfil their potential whilst having fun.

All activities are based around the 7 areas of learning:

PSED – Personal, Social and Emotional Development

PD – Physical Development

CL – Communication and Language

L – Literacy

M – Maths

UTW – Understanding the World

EAD – Expressive art and design


Returning to work and leaving your child with a childminder is an emotional time for families. For this reason, I offer individual settling- in sessions to suit each family. These sessions are free, they vary on how many and length of session depending on each child. I have found offering this service ensures a happy, easy transition from home to setting which is so important for the parents and child’s wellbeing.

Activities are available both indoors and outdoors. The children have free flow to both areas. Outside we have swings, slide, rockers, water play, little tike cars, bikes, sand, playhouse, kitchen, along with various activities which are changed often. Indoors, the children are free to choose from a selection of toys and we always have art/craft, puzzles and books available. Each day we have song time/musical instruments and dance time with bubbles.

I work around a theme each month, incorporating each child’s interest into the planning. A newsletter is issued at the beginning of each month notifying parents about the next theme and activities that will be available.

I use Whatsapp throughout the day to keep in touch with parents. This is especially useful with new starters.

About me

I am a mum of two children, a son aged nineteen and a daughter aged seventeen. We love to spend our time at the local parks or woods, and a favourite place of ours is visiting Hatfield House. I have lived in WGC all my life and know the area very well.

I am a calm, patient person and like to think I always have a smile on my face and lot's of energy (even at my age!)

I am offering childminding services all year round except bank holidays.

I would be happy to answer any questions you have.

My Experience

I have had many years experience in child care. First job was as a nanny when leaving school for 2 little boys, I stayed with them till both boys were at full time school, I’ve worked in a day nursery – baby room and toddlers. I worked as a key worker for a large group of children, tracking their progress, meeting with parents, 2 yr old checks, UCOs, learning journals and setting targets, I then moved on to become the deputy in our Outstanding Pre-School, till my son started at secondary school and I started as a part time key worker to make sure his transition went smoothly..

I also ran a very successful dancing school for many years, teaching children from 4 years of age to adults.

We do dancing each day along with music/song time

In my past I have also worked as a self employed graphic designer/DTP.

My Qualifications

I am level 3 CACHE qualified.

Supporting Early Language Development – Level 2

Improving Children’s Learning through play – Level 2

Autism Awareness – Level 2

Professional ballroom, Latin and sequence dance teacher with the UKA

Other Training

First aid trained – Kept up to date
Food and Hygiene – Kept up to date
Safeguarding – Kept up to date
Letters and sounds


Baby Brain

Resources to promote learning

Technology in the Early Years

Child Development in the Early Years

Working with other settings and professionals

Sensory play and Learning

Working with Babies

Behaviour and Self Regulation for Children

Attachment and the Key Person Role

Data Protection Regulation

Learning Walks

Prevent Duty and British Values

I continue to do training regularly during my own time to ensure I am up to date with any recent changes in the EYFS.

bottom of page